Nominations Open for National Award for Senior Citizens- Vayoshreshtha Samman-2022

Posted by: 2022-08-03 08:42:10 ,
By Admin

National Award for Senior Citizens- Vayoshreshtha Samman-2022

Established in : 2013

Department of Social Justice and Empowerment

Vayoshreshtha Samman are conferred on eminent senior citizens and Institutions involved in rendering distinguished services for the cause of elderly persons, especially indigent senior citizens. The Awards are given across 13 categories – 07 categories of Institutional type and 06 categories of individual type.

Eligibility :

Open to all Indian Institutions, Organizations and Individuals without any distinction or discrimination on grounds of race, sex, caste or creed.

Recommendation is necessary. Self nominations shall not be considered.

For details please see Para 5 of the Scheme document uploaded.

Decoration :

The Award component shall contain one citation to each awardee, one memento to each awardee, and cash component in 10 categories. Cash award varies, and is not provided in 03 institutional categories.

For details please see Para 4 of the Scheme document uploaded.

No. of Awardees :

15 awardees

Who can nominate? :

Ministries or Departments of the Government of India and their autonomous organisations.

The State Governments or Union Territory Administrations.

Past recipients of Padma Award, Vayoshreshtha Samman, and other National Awards in both individual and institution categories.

Members of the National Council of Senior Citizens (NCSrC).

Renowned Apex Chambers like Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Confederations of Indian Industry, Associated Chamber of Commerce and Industry, National Association of Software and Service Companies, PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry etc.

Any other category of persons or institutions authorized by the Ministry from time to time.

Selection Process :

 A Screening Committee shall be constituted in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment to scrutinize and shortlist of the nominations, under Additional Secretary/ Joint Secretary. For details please see para 8 of the Scheme document uploaded.

Final Selection of the Awardees shall be made by the Selection Committee chaired by the Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment. For details please see para 9 of the Scheme document uploaded.

Ceremony Details :

The Award shall be presented at New Delhi at a special ceremony / function to be held on the occasion of the International Day of Older Persons on the 01st October every year. The Awards shall be presented by the President of India or the Prime Minister of India.

For details please see para 10 of the Scheme document uploaded.

Read more: Click Here

You may like similar news

The Decade of Healthy Ageing: a new UN-wide initiative

The United Nations General Assembly today declared 2021-2030 the Decade of Healthy Ageing. "Today...

Read in detail

NGO launches digital literacy programme for the elderly

Jun 26 () In a unique initiative to empower the elderly with computer skills, city based NGO Agewell...

Read in detail

Pune's elderly fight loneliness, depression, suicidal tendencies

Over a month ago, an elderly man, aged 61, allegedly jumped off the ninth floor of a building locate...

Read in detail

5th Poshan Pakhwada celebrations begin

The Ministry of Women and Child Development will celebrate the fifth Poshan Pakhwada from 20th March...

Read in detail

Substrate promiscuity of fungi generated enzyme Laccase shows potential in degrading industrial dye effluents

An enzyme called laccase generated by a group of fungi has been found capable of degrading a variety...

Read in detail